June 3, 2011

The Hon. Michael McGinn Mayor City of Seattle 600 4th Avenue, 7th Floor Seattle, WA 98124-4749

Re: DPD's Proposed Roosevelt Rezone

Dear Mayor McGinn:

We urge you to take a leadership role regarding DPD's currently-proposed rezone in Roosevelt. As you know, several individuals and groups have written to comment on the proposed rezone, which will constrain development capacity within close proximity to the future Roosevelt Sound Transit Station.

The creation of transit-oriented communities supports the significant public investment in transit that will occur in Roosevelt as a result of the new station. Transit investments are most effective when combined with opportunities for more people to live, shop and work near the stations. The Planning Commission's recent *Transit Communities Report* identified several communities, including Roosevelt, as areas in which more housing and infrastructure should occur to take advantage of the investment in transit. Futurewise's *Blueprint* report made similar recommendations related to the Roosevelt neighborhood.

The current zoning plan as proposed by DPD constrains development in the station area, a 5-10 minute walk, to primarily single family housing, with only 2-3 blocks of additional NC-65 zoning in the neighborhood core. The core, areas currently zoned for NC3-65, have no proposed increases in density. Other proposed changes are primarily minor single level "step ups" to transition from the slightly larger core to surrounding single family housing (Ex. LR1 to LR2), or character changes (Ex. LR to NC).

All together the current plan will only result in an increase in housing capacity of only 350 units. A majority of this increase is immediately adjacent to I-5, where Sound Transit originally proposed to build the station.

The Roosevelt community successfully lobbied Sound Transit to move the station closer to the heart of the Roosevelt neighborhood in order to create a vibrant neighborhood center. DPD's plan does not properly increase capacity in the correct locations to take advantage of the great work accomplished by the Roosevelt community in moving the station, and the plan fails to take advantage of the once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to leverage the creation of a transit community in Roosevelt.

We believe that in order to fully take advantage of the transit investment in the Roosevelt neighborhood, and the work accomplished by the Roosevelt community members in moving the station, DPD must undertake a full station area planning effort complete with

an Urban Design Framework Plan, similar to the planning efforts in South Seattle, South Lake Union, West Seattle, and other transit-oriented locations. Such a planning effort must include much higher heights and densities than currently exist in the DPD plan, which will ensure the appropriate level of development in close proximity to the public's \$300 million investment in the Roosevelt Light Rail station.

Sincerely,

Chuck Ayers George Allen

Executive Director, Cascade Bicycle Club VP, Government Relations, Greater Seattle

Chamber of Commerce

Stephen Antupit Adam Bejan Parast

Cowen Park neighbor of the Roosevelt Seattle Transit Blog

Station

Craig Benjamin Dan Bertolet
Seattle Resident Citytank

John Coney Eric de Place
Seattle Resident Seattle Resident

Martin Duke Kevin Futhey
Seattle Transit Blog Roosevelt Resident

Zach Herrington-Shaner Brock Howell

Seattle Transit Blog King County Program Director,

Futurewise

Sean Howell John Jensen

VP, Friends of Seattle Seattle Transit Blog

Rob Johnson Sherwin Lee

Executive Director, Transportation Seattle Transit Blog

Choices Coalition

Gary Manca Brice Maryman
President, Friends of Seattle Seattle Resident

Dan McGrady Andrew McManama Smith

Leadership for Great Neighborhoods Roosevelt Resident

Ben Schiendelman Jon Scholes

Seattle Transit Blog Downtown Seattle Association

Catherine Stanford *Chair, Great City*

Roger Valdez
Seattle Resident

Renee Staton

Leadership for Great Neighborhoods

Don Vehige

Ravenna Neighbor of the Roosevelt Station

cc: The Hon. Sally Bagshaw

The Hon. Tim Burgess
The Hon. Sally Clark
The Hon. Richard Conlin
The Hon. Jean Godden
The Hon. Bruce Harrell
The Hon. Nick Licata
The Hon. Mike O'Brien

The Hon. Tom Rasmussen Diane Sugimura, Department of Planning and Development

Marshall Foster, Department of Planning and Development

Barbara Wilson, Seattle Planning Commission